Kirrihill Wines has been awarded two trophies for its red wines in as many days as its 2018 Kirrihill
Piccoli Lotti Montepulciano is named Best Varietal Red at the 2019 Royal Hobart Wine Show. The
team from Kirrihill received news of the win while still celebrating from picking up Best Value red
wine for their Regional Selection Clare Valley Shiraz at the 2019 Royal Sydney Wine Show.

Montepulciano is a relative new-comer to Australia yet Kirrihill recognised its potential early on,
producing its first vintage in 2012. An extremely versatile variety, it has proven itself particularly well
on the cool slopes of the mount Lofty Ranges where the grapes for this wine are sourced.

Kirrihill Wines has recently been undergoing a period of growth and expansion, focussing on
diversification and premiumisation of its portfolio. Created by two mates, Sean Edwards and Rob
Stanway in 1998, who share a history, passion and deep connection to the Clare Valley, their focus is
create wines that are the best expression of the region in each variety and their portfolio stretches
beyond Clare Valley to the Adelaide Hills and McLaren Vale.

Piccoli Lotti means ‘small batch’ in Italian and the 2018 Kirrihill Piccoli Lotti Montepulciano is made
from just a single vineyard in the Mount Lofty ranges that lies at an elevation of 500 metres, making
it a cooler site. After crushing and maceration, the wine was matured in seasoned French oak for 12
months. The result is vibrant red in colour with aromas of dark cherry, boysenberry, violets and
vanilla. The wine is a respectable 13% alcohol and the palate is full bodied, luscious and smooth with
soft tannins.

Kirrihill Chief Winemaker Susie Mickan is elated with the win.
“This is a wonderful endorsement for Kirrihill Wines and really confirms we are on the right path to
achieving our goals of premiumisation and regional expression in our wines”.

The Royal Hobart Wine Show, established in 1974 has grown to be one of the countries most
prominent wine shows with this years’ show judged by a team of experts led by Sue Bell Chair of